Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Advice for a beginner

PommyDave

Reaction score
Members Ride
VC
Hi, I've recently inherited x2 Holden 202 engines. Both are complete (without gearboxes), one is blue & one is red, and both are stock standard as far as I know.

I'm a total beginner when it comes to working on cars/ engines & have nobody I know locally to teach me, so I'm learning the very basics via forums & YouTube etc.

I am currently stripping down the blue engine to try to work out which bit does what & I have been told my first job is to get the block acid-dipped to find out if it's actually a worthwhile project. In a perfect world I would then rebuild it with quality parts (and hopefully adding a bit of oomph), before finding a car to stick it in.

I have the space and the time and it's purely a teach-myself hobby.

My question (and I'm sorry if it's a silly one) is how do I learn which components are compatible with each other? I feel that trial & error would waste a lot of $$$, but if I asked a workshop for help I'd either get fleeced or laughed back out the door?

Thank you.

Ginger Beer

Reaction score
Members Ride
Dunnydoore
Don't get it acid dipped

If you don't have a car to put them in just pull one apart for look

Immortality

Can't live without smoky bacon!
Staff member
Reaction score
Members Ride
HSV VS Senator, VX Calais II L67
Get yourself a car manual for those engines/models as they have a wealth of info to suit a standard rebuild/maintenance.

Engines, how they work are actually fairly basic in concept but to make an engine run well requires detail and accuracy.

I'd start with doing a basic refresh of an engine, gaskets, seals etc. Get it running, chuck it in a car feel like you have accomplished something and then move on to something bigger.